Google Photos will close its free unlimited storage service on June 1st, 2021

Google Photos will close its free unlimited storage on June 1st, 2021


Google Photos announced to start charging for storage more than 15GB on the account have been used. The change will effect from June 1st, 2021, and it comes with other Google Drive policy changes like counting Google Workspace documents and spreadsheets against the same. Also Google is also introducing a new policy of deleting data from accounts that haven’t been logged in to for at least two years.

All the photos and documents uploaded before June 1st will not consider against that 15GB policy, so you have enough time to decide whether to continue using Google Photos or change to another cloud storage provider for your photos.

How to check how much Google Photos storage you have used?

All you need to do is open the Google Photos app and visit the settings section by tapping on the profile icon, located on the top right corner of the screen.

Under the Account Storage section, the app displays how much storage you have used until now. When you tap again on Account storage, you will notice Upload size section at the bottom of the screen.

Don’t Worry Google Device Owners:

Pixel owners will still be able to upload high-quality (not original) photos for free after June 1st,2021 without any restriction. It’s like a bonus for the people who owns Google’s devices. They can upload as much as photos to their Photos App without any restriction.

Also Google compares its facility with Apple and told out that it offers more free storage than Apple as you get 15GB instead of the paltry 5GB that Apple’s iCloud gives you.

Alongside photos, “Google Docs, Sheets, Slides, Drawings, Forms and Jamboard files” will also begin counting against this policy.

Also for the inactive account policy, it seems fairly reasonable: if you haven’t opened your Google account for two years and don’t respond back to any of the multiple warning emails and notifications Google sends you, Google may delete data from your account. Here’s the screenshot how Google describes it:

ALSO READ : HOW TO REMOVE LOGO AND OTHER ATTRIBUTES FROM YOUTUBE VIDEO?